About Democracy Initiative

Would you like your organization to be a part of the Democracy Initiative? Fill out our form to get started!

Join Now


The Democracy Initiative is a coalition of organizations launched in 2013 working toward a bright future in which all Americans participate fully and freely in the democratic process. We believe that the voice of every citizen should be heard and counted, so all of us have an equal say in a democracy that is of, by, and for the people. Our partner organizations pursue a diverse range of progressive goals, including civil rights, workers’ rights, women’s rights, and climate justice, but we know that success in any of these areas depends on reforming our democracy. 

United by a shared vision for a political process that counts every voice and every vote equally, we are mobilizing members of Democracy Initiative organizations to ensure that all Americans can vote, diminish the influence of corporate and special interests, and halt the obstruction that has thrown our Congress out of balance. Together, we can break down these barriers and protect our democracy from the systematic effort to shift power from the many to a wealthy few by silencing our voices in the workplace, in the ballot box, and in the offices of our elected officials.


Our Principles 

Amidst our tapestry of just causes, democracy is our north star, the bedrock of our shared beliefs, and the strategic center of gravity around which we agitate. As large corporations and an elite few control more wealth and power, the tenets of our democracy come under threat. Click here to read our solutions to strengthen our democracy and the role we play amongst our 72 member organizations and 45 million members.

Program Strategy

Contact Us


Karen Hobert Flynn, Common Cause President, Board Treasurer and Co-Chair

Tefere Gebre, AFL-CIO Executive Vice President, Board President and Co-Chair

Derrick Johnson, NAACP President & CEO

Erich Pica, Friends of the Earth President

Gustavo Torres, CASA Executive Director

Virginia Kase Solomón, League of Women Voters of the United States CEO

(Top left to bottom right): Karen Hobert Flynn, Tefere Gebre, Derrick Johnson, Erich Pica, Gustavo Torres, Virginia Kase.


Charly Carter, Executive Director

Jennifer Lamson, Deputy Director

Getachew Kassa, National Field Manager

Linda Ewing, Senior Policy and Training Fellow

Brittny Baxter, Training & Movement Building Coordinator

Sherri Davis, Executive Assistant & Office Manager

Jack Flynn, Communications Associate 

Belén Sisa, Arizona Campaign Manager


Anchor Committee

Marilyn Carpinteyro, Vice President of Programs and Strategy, Common Cause

Jamal Watkins, Vice President of Civic Engagement, NAACP

Michelle Chan, Vice President of Programs, Friends of the Earth

Alonzo Washington, Director of Policy and Community Engagement, CASA

Nahal Zamani, Director of Movement Building, Demos

Alma Couverthie, National Organizing Director, League of Women Voters of the United States

Delrico Loyd, Director of Organizational Insurances & the Union Building Corporation, United Auto Workers

Folabi Olagbaju, Democracy Campaign Director, Greenpeace USA

Jonathan Butler, Democracy Campaigner, Greenpeace USA